Dallas Minor in Consumption (MIC) Attorneys

Because of the effect that it can have upon an individual’s health and decision-making, the consumption of alcohol is regulated more strictly than that of other beverages. One of the limitations is that individuals who drink alcoholic beverages are to be at least 21 years of age, though there are some exceptions. If a police officer suspects that a minor has consumed alcohol, he or she may issue a citation or make an arrest on a minor in consumption (MIC) charge.

It is essential for youth offenders to fight their charges at all costs, as a criminal record can severely hamper one’s transition to independence and adulthood. For legal representation you can rely on if you are facing allegations of MIC, contact the Dallas minor in consumption attorneys at the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter today at 214-845-7007 for a free consultation.

Texas Minor in Consumption (MIC) Laws and Punishments

The state of Texas prosecutes MIC as a Class C misdemeanor. Minor in consumption charges may result in a ticket or an arrest. Tickets for an MIC charge may be given by one of the following:

  • Police officer
  • Officer from the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC)

Conviction for MIC may be accompanied by one, or a combination of the following punishments:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • License suspension between 30-180 days
  • Community service for 8-40 hours

Even if the MIC citation only requires paying a fine, it can be fought with the help of an attorney well-versed in Texas MIC laws.

Contact Us

You can rely on the experienced Dallas minor in consumptions attorneys of the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter to help you or your child fight against the potentially harsh consequences of a MIC charge. Contact us today by calling 214-845-7007 to begin working to build your case.


Confidential Free Case Evaluation